Code54

Lifetime Member
Club Contributor
Jan 31, 2015
Hurricane West Virginia
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. Talon X
This is a a basic guide to checking and adjusting the valves but please do so at your own risk as I am not a Honda Mechanic and am putting this up for informational purposes only

Most of the Tools needed:

1) Flat head screwdriver

2) Flashlight

3) 10mm box wrench

4) 6mm Allen head socket

5) Crescent wrench

6) Feeler gauge

7) Sparkplug wrench

8) Dental mirror

9) Phillips Screw driver

10) Torque wrench

Honda recommends a valve adjustment at the first 100 miles or 20 hours, and every 600 miles/100 hours after that.

It is a good idea to wash your machine before you start just so there is less mud to fall into places where you don’t want dirt and mud (the valves, inspections hole, etc)

I took a bunch of photos to give you some idea what is involved so please see below
Seat remove 1

Remove cover 3

Remove ecm

I forgot to take a photo before I removed my ECM but if you unplug it you can move it out of the way and make things a bit easier on yourself
Left cover to remove

Do this to both panels - left and right

Phillips removal

Plastic cover near valves

Now unthread the seatbelt from the plastic covers and remove the plastic that was under the seats and move the plastic (photo above) cover that held the wires out of the way. Don't really need to fully remove it, just get it so you can work on the valves.

IMG 0974

Plug removed

Go ahead and remove the spark plug - you need it gone to find Top Dead Center and to release some of the engines compression. Don't try to find TDC yet - you are just getting ready to.

Remove battery box

This gives you a little room to see the inspection port (Flywheel TDC "T" mark)

Close up of inspection port

Inspection port 2

Due to the very tight work area I could not get a photo of what it looks like inside (on the flywheel) of the "T" you are looking for but it is basically a T with a line