B

Boundertom

Dec 12, 2020
AZ
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. Talon R
Hi Tom and welcome!

@CID has put together a useful Talon resource here. It contains the part # for the tube and other helpful info.
Thank you for that, Steve! Looks like a great resource that CID put together! I skipped down to the air intake post, but will have to study the whole thing. Very helpful.

Thanks!

Tom

Reactions: Lil_Steve and TimG
D

DAJO

Mar 31, 2019
Indiana, Arizona
Ownership

1. Talon R
I know this is an old thread, but I am new to the Talon. I have ridden motorcycles for 50+ years, and ATVs for 40 years. I just put a deposit on a 2021 R yesterday. I probably won't get it until after Christmas. I have been reading, and know that the air intake is the first thing I must address. I can't believe Honda did such a poor job on this! Hondabob, I really like your approach to this. I like leaving the factory induction tube (I don't know the actual name!) in place, and extending the intake up under the roof. With the help of your pictures, i can figure out most of this. I am wondering where you got that tube with the slight bend in it? I think I want to run a rear windshield, so I am hoping to make that work with this intake setup. It is hard to visualize without a machine in front of me! Do you find intake noise to be any problem?

BTW, I live near Congress, AZ, and would love to meet up with you someday. And we have been making a summer trip up to Williams for the last few years. We love it up there. I have put 30,000 miles on ATVs in the last 10 years, although I have kinda slowed down in the last couple of years........

Thanks for your help!

Tom
2021 Talon R (coming soon)
2015 Polaris 1000 Touring
If you leave the factory intake tube and just trim the top lip off there is no noise from the intake. I have the SATV rear window with the snorkel mounted straight up behind the window not under the roof.

CID

CID

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Oct 27, 2019
SE Denver-ish
Ownership