P1000 Clunk noise Coming from rear when turning.

L

Longer444

Jan 11, 2022
Ontario
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Hi Folks,

First Post on here,
I bought a used 2020 1000-5LE back a few months ago, I haven’t put many Km’s on it yet but today I noticed a clunking noise coming from the rear while I turned…
Any ideas?
I inspected the CV boots and did not see any tears.

I did notice, that when selector was in Turf mode, the dash showed 2wd Lock… after messing around with the selector and getting the dash to come out of 2wd lock the turning noise was much quieter (or was gone completely? My paranoid mind may still have been hearing something lol)

I am a very novice rider but mechanically inclined. Thanks B2272CA9 D1DC 4731 B387 5AFAFDEFEFF6

Remington

Remington

Deputy Fife POIDH Enforcement Officer
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Jul 24, 2016
Michigan
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon X
Welcome from Michigan and nice rig.

Sounds as if your linkage is out of adjustment. Prob wasnt quite right from the factory. However, its an easy fix. Heres a Vidgea of how to adjust it. Try it and get back with your results.

JACKAL

JACKAL

Ancient Honda fanboi
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Jun 11, 2015
Pioneer, TN
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. 1000-5
It could likely be your diff lock / turf mode mechanism hanging up. Even cable out of adjustment.

My 2018LE does the same occasionally if not fully in turf mode or fully in 2WD lock. Very audible when turning, especially backing up and turning.

P1K5Dave

P1K5Dave

Lifetime Member
Club Contributor
Jul 11, 2020
Petoskey, MI
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Definitely follow the video Remington posted, and get it dialed in to where your diff lock engages/disengages in about a half-turn of the tire.