BOX1

P1000 Fires!

CLS

CLS

Aug 26, 2018
Az
Ownership

1. 1000-5
How common is it that the p1k5 are catching fire?

Are there any commonalities with those that burned?

Reactions: sharp and BWAF
CLS

CLS

Aug 26, 2018
Az
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Honda has a recall for the throttle body and muffler... but it’s extremly rare in the hondas... not saying it can’t. But it’s not on the same level as Polaris.
My vin said it had the muffler done prior to delivery. When I checked the throttle body all was tight and dry. I'd like to focus on riding and hunting instead of feeling like I'm a test pilot waiting for a malfunction.

J

JTW

My vin said it had the muffler done prior to delivery. When I checked the throttle body all was tight and dry. I'd like to focus on riding and hunting instead of feeling like I'm a test pilot waiting for a malfunction.
Oh we’ve already test piloted the s*** out of them for you... @CumminsPusher is our resident crash dummy. Drive the f***er and don’t worry about it.. do your routine maintenance and if you’re smart enough to check the throttle body then you’ll be fine!

CumminsPusher

CumminsPusher

Just a Honda doing Honda things.
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Oct 14, 2015
Washington/Idaho
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. 1000-5

3. Talon X LV
Oh we’ve already test piloted the s*** out of them for you... @CumminsPusher is our resident crash dummy. Drive the f***er and don’t worry about it.. do your routine maintenance and if you’re smart enough to check the throttle body then you’ll be fine!
Hey I didn’t have every single issue, we didn’t have the melted rear plastic. Oh wait we went aftermarket exhaust long before that service bulletin.

Tighten the intake and all is fine. I’m surprised to see that one in flames actually from intake. Pretty rare I’d believe

ToddACimer

ToddACimer

Pioneer 1005-2
Lifetime Member
Oct 7, 2016
Oshkosh, Wi
Ownership

1. 1000-5