Muleyhunter

Muleyhunter

Lifetime Member
Apr 19, 2018
Lake Kiowa, TX
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Hello, I'm Muleyhunter

Hello from N Texas. Discovered this site about three weeks ago while researching a winch buy/ installation. Bought my Pioneer 1000-5 last summer for my yearly mule deer hunt to Wyoming. I thought I was happy with my stock machine but now realize I'm not after looking at all the great builds on this site, lol. I have been addicted to reading the various forums and learning. I now have a very large shopping list.

Seriously, I'm a novice at adding mods but know enough to know that I didn't like the OEM setup for switch plate and winch, hence my looking around for ideas. I've gone through a huge learning curve reading various posts but have decided on a dual battery with isolater setup, running all mods off the aux battery. I looked at the two batteries in parallel setup but saw a comment about the electronics in the DCT being very sensitive and that was enough to scare me off. I found a very nice schematic that someone had posted of the isolater setup with links to all the items for purchase. It was a very nice professional looking schematic but unfortunately, I havent been able to find it again. So any help in refinding this would be much appreciated. I've found mystic's switch plates and will order one of those once I decide what all I want to add.

My only disappointment with my 1000-5 is the amount of heat coming up through the front middle seat. It was nice in Wyoming during hunting season but not so nice in the N Texas summers. I had the Honda "comfort" kit installed which helped but still way too much heat in my opinion. Has anybody found a solution for this. Ive seen some posts referring to a bilge fan and curious how well those work.