pit

My new baby!
Lifetime Member
Mar 15, 2018
Cartersville, GA
Ownership

1. 1000-5
InkedIMG 3573 LI
So I'm finally getting some time to start planning how exactly I'm going to start the hemorrhage of cash, I mean mods, and after lots of reading on here, the obvious first step is getting the 2nd battery in place. I've got 2 main questions to get some advice on before I get started:

1. I'm going with the under the hood option and I've seen the main two choices on here are the Odyssey PC925 and the Mighty Max 26-12. $187 vs $55 seems like a no brainer, but which did you choose and why?

2. I had the winch installed by the dealer at purchase time, so I'm not real sure on the wiring. I studied the installation instructions from the Honda accessory website and it appears to me (see attached pic):
-the black cables with yellow and blue tape coming out of the bottom of the contactor are the power cables going to winch
-the black cable with the blue tape coming out the right side of the contactor is the winch sub harness
-the larger black cable coming out of the left side of the contactor is the winch battery cable that runs to the starter relay and then the red cable runs back to the stock battery.

So if this is all correct, is the only cable I have to change is the red cable from the starter relay to stock battery so that it goes from starter relay to 2nd battery? I'm sure this is a simple question, but I'd rather be safe than sorry and not break something that is working perfectly fine right now!

Reactions: BWAF
Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon R
#2.
A - Correct. That is the winch contactor main power. It should be moved to the second battery.
But, do you have a switch panel or other accessories? If so, that primary feed needs moved as well. Leaving only key on power trigger wire, and/or switch backlights on OEM system.