P1000m5 Need advice on costly situation. Buy a 1000-5 or? Help!

mjs6789

mjs6789

Nov 26, 2018
NWA Arkansas
Ownership

1. Do not currently own

2. Other Brand
Hey guys, looking for your advice, suggestions, ideas for an expensive situation I have gotten myself into. I’ll try to keep it as short as possible, but you need to know the details in order to give me some advice.

SITUATION

Bought a new 2018 Can-Am Defender Max XT HD10 (their big 6-seater) about 2 months ago. I have a wife and 13 year old daughter who rides with me hence the extra seating. My daughter would prefer to ride in back not squished up front with mom and dad.

Unfortunately, the huge berms on our trails here in Arkansas are too much for the long wheelbase (I’m new to sxs so didn’t know about the berms). So I’m looking to purchase a new 1000-5 LE taking a financial bath on the Defender in the process. So I have to make this decision a good one.

I am 6’5” over 250 lbs so there are not many machines I can fit my legs into. My butt fits just not my legs. The utility machines with bench seats work the best. I don’t fit comfortably in machines with center consoles like Wolverine or Teryx. They “could” work but not ideal.

I’m liking the 1000-5. I fit great and love all the options and the seating works for my daughter too. Is the 1000-5 a great choice? Is it quiet enough? Is it cool enough? Is it worth the money? I have to cough up another $8,000 to make it happen, huge expense at this stage plus have to convince my wife to spend the money too so I am looking for your thoughts or other ideas.

I need a short wheelbase, 2 rows of seats and I have to fit in it. One really nice feature of the 1000-5 is my daughter can ride in back or “comfortably” fit up front with my wife and I. So if it gets too hot back there or too bumpy, etc, she can comfortably ride up front. She has options. I like that…nice wide front bench.