P500 Oil Recommendations

TCJ2436

TCJ2436

Oct 5, 2018
North Idaho
Ownership

1. 500
Hey all. I’m new to the P500 family, and am getting ready to do my first oil change. Wondering what the concensous is on what brand oil is best to use? I’ve heard many suggestions ranging from only using Honda oil, to Royal Purple, to NAPA brand(which I’ve been told is made by Valvoline), to everything in between. Care to share what you guys use? Thanks up front!

Reactions: SouthwestORV
NitroxDiver

NitroxDiver

Dec 22, 2016
Concord NC
Ownership

1. 500
Cant go wrong with the Honda oil. But I have used the both the Honda oil and the Valvoline ATV/motorcycle oil with good results. I didn’t make the switch to synthetic until the 500 mile service. I feel the most important thing is to pick a good oil with the proper rating and stick with it. I switched over to the Valvoline because of its easy availability (Walmart, or about any parts store).

tomcj2

tomcj2

I forgot the ditch was so close
Lifetime Member
Sep 1, 2018
N. Shore Lake Huron,Northern Ontario Canada
Ownership

1. 500
I use NAPA Synthetic for everything EXCEPT my P500. Because the transmission and engine use the same oil (as does the
Lamborghini Miura) I use Honda oil.
Here is what the manual shows.
Fullsizeoutput 648

TCJ2436

TCJ2436

Oct 5, 2018
North Idaho
Ownership

1. 500
I use NAPA Synthetic for everything EXCEPT my P500. Because the transmission and engine use the same oil (as does the
Lamborghini Miura) I use Honda oil.
Here is what the manual shows.
View attachment 93781
Hey all. I’m new to the P500 family, and am getting ready to do my first oil change. Wondering what the concensous is on what brand oil is best to use? I’ve heard many suggestions ranging from only using Honda oil, to Royal Purple, to NAPA brand(which I’ve been told is made by Valvoline), to everything in between. Care to share what you guys use? Thanks up front!