BOX1

P500 P500 sound system options ?

Derail

Derail

Aug 31, 2017
Southern Ohio
Ownership

1. 500
Hope to try out my new W.E. shocks later today.
Had a long week at work and should have some extra cheese to throw in my "fun money" stash soon. Have already picked out some wheels and tires. And the next thing I want to do after that is upgrade my sound system. I have tunes now but would like to go to something Bluetooth. I plan on completely removing my old setup and giving it to my brother to install in his Kawasaki. Want to start from scratch with a new system.

A couple of things on my mind...

1) The P500 is noisy so it would seem to me that installing a system with concert hall like audio quality would be kind of goofy because the finer notes would be lost in the background noise. But any system would need to at least be loud enough to overcome the noise of the P500. I am no expert on stereo systems and I am not really sure what the best compromise might be.
2) I would like to stay in the 400 to 700 dollar range for the new setup if possible.
3) My setup up now has amplified motorcycle handlebar speakers that require power, ground and audio-in wires. The receiver I am using requires audio-out, power, ground, and antenna wires. And if I use my ipod I have to run yet another audio cable to the receiver. It works pretty good but would like to simplify things and not have to run so many damn wires and cables.
4) Whatever direction I go, the new system needs to be rugged enough to withstand trail riding in rocky terrain. It also needs to be compact enough to fit in the space available in my little buggy.
5) I would like to keep the am-fm radio capability if possible but that is not a deal breaker.
6) Bass is cool. But for me, it's not a big enough of a deal to mount a separate subwoofer. Space is limited on the P500 and also I want to keep the new setup simple.