P1000m5 Strapping the 4x4 to a trailer

S

Skeyter

Lifetime Member
Nov 23, 2017
Manassas, VA
Ownership

1. 1000-5
After much research, and some trial and error, I have finally found what may be the best solution to securely tying my Honda to my trailer. Mac's of Idaho makes a 2" set that combines an axle strap with a ratcheting strap. It seems perfect. My question is, why don't dealers, especially dealers selling both SxS's and trailers, know how to marry the two, or have suitable strapping to safely and securely toe them together? I'm new at this so maybe I've missed prior comments. Also, where, on a P5KD, is the best location to attach the strapping?

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

S

Someguy

Jun 15, 2016
Krakow Wi.
Ownership

1. 1000-3
I use a ratchet strap to the lower a arms in the hole in the bottom crossed to the opposite side of trailer on each a arm. (4total) They ratchet straps the go over the tire that are hooked to the trailer. There are some threads on this.This is probably the most secure way, but you will have to make a eye or something to attach the strap to the bed of the trailer. One thing you do not to do is hook to machine like the bumper, or any way that will allow the suspension to bounce against the straps, this can cause a strap to break.

BWAF

BWAF

I get paid to pass gas
Lifetime Member
Jan 24, 2018
Carthage MO
Ownership

1. 1000-5
After much research, and some trial and error, I have finally found what may be the best solution to securely tying my Honda to my trailer. Mac's of Idaho makes a 2" set that combines an axle strap with a ratcheting strap. It seems perfect. My question is, why don't dealers, especially dealers selling both SxS's and trailers, know how to marry the two, or have suitable strapping to safely and securely toe them together? I'm new at this so maybe I've missed prior comments. Also, where, on a P5KD, is the best location to attach the strapping?