BOX1

P700 Sudden down shift

J

jbeloit2550

Sep 9, 2020
Pilot Rock, Oregon
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Hey guys first off I want to say I’m new to the Honda pioneer world but not hondas. I own a 2020 1k5p but here’s my question, so a buddy of mine is currently trying out a 2014 700-3 and it will suddenly just down shift to what feels like 1st gear. Happens when it’s up to temp and it will shift from say 3rd to 1st like all of sudden. I’ve been searching for awhile now and can’t seem to find the answer so here I am. Hopefully someone can help.

DG Rider

DG Rider

Member: Triple Clutch Club
Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
Yes that is correct.
Wow...that's a new one. We'll see if @HondaTech has time to chime in.

Weird shifting on a 700 usually dictates checking the oil level first (though I don't know if it would cause sudden downshifting). Check it by the procedure laid out in the owners manual for a accurate level, and don't be afraid to run it slightly over.
Any check engine lights? Does the Speedo drop out or anything like that? Gear display stay constant?
Also, check grounds and battery connections and tighten.

Reactions: Mudwing and CID
J

jbeloit2550

Sep 9, 2020
Pilot Rock, Oregon
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Wow...that's a new one. We'll see if @HondaTech has time to chime in.

Weird shifting on a 700 usually dictates checking the oil level first (though I don't know if it would cause sudden downshifting). Check it by the procedure laid out in the owners manual for a accurate level, and don't be afraid to run it slightly over.
Any check engine lights? Does the Speedo drop out or anything like that? Gear display stay constant?
Also, check grounds and battery connections and tighten.