P1000 Dual volt meter. Switched ground?

bumperm

bumperm

May 7, 2021
Gardnerville, NV
Ownership

1. 1000-5
What Scoop said ^^^. I think most wire the dual voltmeter that way. However, I've found myself switching the key on just to check voltage, so I also gonna add a miniature push button, adjacent to the meter, to apply a momentary ground to that point. I might have to use a diode to prevent my illuminated rocker buttons from lighting.

Reactions: Scoop and Lady01
Fdxjettech

Fdxjettech

Oct 21, 2021
Oakland TN
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Well, phase one is complete. Dual battery system with dual volt meter. 10 socket positive distribution fuse block and grounding block. With a two port USB charging port thrown in to keep the wife happy. It took 8 hours of work ( I’m new at this). And at least twice that head scratching and waking up at night thinking about wires. Lol. But I got it all in Turned on the key and everything lit up and worked fantastically through multiple starts and a three mile text drive. Yaay me. 😉

I’d really like to thank you guys for the help on these, my first baby steps. Thanks so much. Coming soon, my BMF light bar. Stay tuned.

Last edited:
Scoop

Scoop

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Sep 7, 2021
Michigan
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. 1000-5

3. Talon R LV
Outstanding. The time you spent and the knowledge you gained will be a basis for future work.

The two-port USB 3.0 charger outlet is the ONLY thing I have hooked up directly to the (aux) battery without requiring key-on power. There will be plenty of times you want something to keep charging when the key is off, and the drain on the (aux) battery isn't diddly squat.

Even so, my USB charger outlet does have its own on/off button built right into it.

Fdxjettech

Fdxjettech

Oct 21, 2021
Oakland TN
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Outstanding. The time you spent and the knowledge you gained will be a basis for future work.