P1000 Dual volt meter with Honda harness on back of 12v keyed plug

UKNB

UKNB

Apr 18, 2017
Fredericton NB Canada
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I read threads but not quite finding answer. I have the Hondasxs wiring harness to tap into the back of the 12v cigarette lighter power.
I have a dual meter with 3 blades on back. Battery 1 is off my true to positive blade, battery 2 is off my “true” to the middle blade and the red from the harness is connected to the negative blade on the dual monitor. With key off, the dual gauge stays on and powers down when I start the engine. I am no electrician and would appreciate any help!! Thanks in advance!

Mark in Northern Iowa

Mark in Northern Iowa

Club Contributor
Oct 20, 2021
Floyd County, Iowa
kramnella.wixsite.com
Ownership

1. 1000-3
Multiple ways to do what is needed.
You need a way to power off each hot wire to the dual voltmeter.
I prefer to add a relay, and switch off GROUND.
standard dual volt meter

Instead of trying to explain it.
Here is a quick key on switched negative relay diagram.

I hope that makes sense.
I just quick threw it together in powerpoint.
edit to add
If you use your
"Hondasxs wiring harness to tap into the back of the 12v cigarette lighter power"
for the key on hot, it would already be fused.
Have a good day

Last edited:
Hillbillytnt

Hillbillytnt

May 2, 2020
Ky
Ownership

1. 1000-3
I read threads but not quite finding answer. I have the Hondasxs wiring harness to tap into the back of the 12v cigarette lighter power.
I have a dual meter with 3 blades on back. Battery 1 is off my true to positive blade, battery 2 is off my “true” to the middle blade and the red from the harness is connected to the negative blade on the dual monitor. With key off, the dual gauge stays on and powers down when I start the engine. I am no electrician and would appreciate any help!! Thanks in advance!