P700 General break0in questions

mtarallo

mtarallo

Aug 31, 2016
FL
Ownership

1. Do not currently own
Hi Guys - thanks for looking. I am new to the SXS scene and purchased a 2016 700-4. We love it and it does what we need, but I have some concerns about some initial things I am noticing and not sure if they are normal or if there is an issue. If I bring it in to the dealer and there is nothing wrong with it, they will charge me $95. So I figured I would check with the experienced crew.

I only have 14 hours on it, but very little mileage and I believe my first maintenance interval is at 20. I was told by some not to worry so much about the hours and keep track of the miles. I have the 1 year factory warranty and a 4 year extended, so I am covered. We use it for light work around our property and some trail riding. Everything is still very clean and solid. It starts up immediately and idles well.

• We noticed the brake(s) - make a squeal / grinding type noise which does not sound very good, but I believe I saw that this was normal on other sites but wanted to verify with others. This does not happen when braking slowly only when pressing harder on the brake pedal.

• Putting it into gear sometimes is not easy - I don't want to force the shifter but sometimes you need to pull down hard to put it into gear. To me I would assume it should always shift smoothly.

• I assume much of the door rattling and overall rattling / vibration is normal.

• Exhaust - there is a noticeabl exhaust odor, I am not sure if this is normal, if it was the gas I used, or if it is still breaking in etc. Anything to look for here?
I appreciate your input - thanks for your time.

Gator

Gator

The Most Unknown Member
Lifetime Member
Sep 16, 2015
Louisiana
Ownership

1. 700-2
welcome @mtarallo

My breaks have never made any noise. If that continues you should probably check them or have them checked.