BOX1

Homemade front lift

slowdryrider

slowdryrider

Lifetime Member
Club Contributor
Jul 14, 2013
Canada
I started playing around with getting the front end up a bit higher.First I jacked up the front of the Pioneer and removed the lower shock bolt to the upper a-arm. I then let the tire drop down as far as it would go,and found out that it would only go so far,and then the axle bottoms out.If you turn the wheel by hand you'll see the tire go up and down a bit as the cv-joints bottom out at two different spots. I used the highest wheel height as my starting point.From there I lifted up the tire 3/4" of a inch higher and designed my lift at that tire/wheel height.I did this to make sure that the cv-joints would never be stressed out. First I made a template out of cardboard,then once I had it figured out I cut and drilled holes into some 3/16" plate that I had laying around.I cut the plate and shaped and drilled it to match the cardboard templates.Looking from the front of the Pioneer to, the back I placed the back plate on the inside of the oem shock mount and the front plate on the front of the shock mount.The front plate is at the bottom is bent towards the front of the machine just a bit in order for it to sit flat against the oem mount and clear the weld at the a-arm. I bolted it all into place and spun the tire/wheels to make sure that the cv-joints weren't binding. All looked good so I let the jack down and to my delight the Pioneer had 12" ground clearance under the front.It looked kinda funny because the back had only 11". I then jacked it up again and turned the wheels to the right full lock,to my disappointment there was 1/4" clearance between the left tire and the front mount,I turned the wheel to full lock left and again had no clearance between the right tire and front mount. When I say no clearance I mean that when I spin the wheel , the tire actually touched the mount.I'am going to be putting different rims on so with alum. rims having a 1" greater