Lets Talk Grounding... Especially for the WINCH!

Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon R
Lets talk winch grounding for your winch.

First, I am no expert. I am self taught in regards to 12v systems. Over the past few years I have learned so much about 12v systems and I hate seeing so many people wire up their machines and have issues, sometimes repeated issues, of dead batteries.

Here I will give 3 examples of where to pick a winch ground location.
FYI, you should NEVER run a winch through a bus bar. Not many can truly handle 200+amps, plus that adds another level of complexity we don't need.

Ok...
Lets review this and talk.
I'm not saying its perfect. but I would like to hear what you have to think.

---------------------------------

FIRST - The factory installed winch, single battery.

Here the best choice is to use the extra provided ground wire (blue tape wire). Doing this routs power through the frame and allows pulling a little power from the stator on the way, thus slightly reducing the load on the battery. This is also Honda's recommend method.

Single

SECOND - Winch with a dual battery system. NOT IDEAL!

Here we have used the factory provided extra ground wire for our winch ground. This is not ideal because the return path pushes through the factory system and could pass thought the primary battery as well.
Our goal with a dual battery system is to protect the primary battery.
In this case, if the isolator cuts off, the ground will still hit the primary and from there I am not exactly sure if it will be considered returned or continue on. If it is considered returned, then I would not expect that battery to last long.

Not ideal

THIRD - The best grounding method.

Here we force the return path to be directly to the second battery. If the isolator cuts off then the primary battery is not effected in any manner.

Best

Last edited:
Pilotadam