New to Pioneers, Welcome your inputs!

S

Slurugger

Feb 10, 2024
Missouri
Ownership

1. Looking to buy
Greetings all, I'm a new member from the St. Louis area. I started riding Honda ST90s as a kid and then rode a Polaris Sportsman 500 for the last 10 years (sorry). Now with a family I need a 5 seater so we can all ride together. After doing significant research it seems the Pioneer 1000-5 is the ideal fit for us. I haven't identfied any consistent issues with the Pioneer 1000s except maybe excessive heat in the cab from mid mounted engine, am I missing something? I also learned on another forum that maybe the cluches had issues prior to 2018?

I'm planning to buy used, is there anything beyond the usual (i.e. abuse/lack of maintenance) that I should look for in 2015-2023 Pioneers? For example, in my area I see a lot of 2021s for sale so is that a COVID purchase situation or is there something to be concerned with that model year?
Any and all thoughts you can provide to a potentially new Pioneer owner would be greatly appreciated!

Mopower58

Mopower58

CST is the Best!
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Aug 10, 2017
Crystal Springs,Ms.
Ownership

1. 1000-3
Welcome from Mississippi. I have a 2016 P1K3, it has been great. It had several recalls done and a new style clutch cover installed. Most problems were MY 2016-2017. Definitely recommend the 1000 version over the others. Biggest problem I’ve heard about is the clutch. This forum can answer any questions you might have.
#NTC

NTCPrezJB

NTCPrezJB

President of #NTC
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Jan 30, 2018
Canton, OH
Ownership

1. 1000-5