futzin

futzin

Lifetime Member
Sep 10, 2019
Kentucky
Ownership

1. 500

2. 520
Please be patient with an electrical noob (I don't even own a simple current tester).

I'm ready to start adding some electrical stuff to my P5. I'm not at all qualified or experienced enough in electrical knowledge to do it, but may try anyway.

Plans are for Power Steering and Winch (with aftermarket wireless remote) now with front and rear lights later. Figured I'd ask up front now about planning it out before starting. If there's a thread about this already I apologize. I see terms like buss bar, power block, relays, fuses etc. but it's mostly greek to me. I've never done any of this stuff before.

Is a power block a place to run power supply wires instead of to the battery itself? Is this the same thing as a busbar? Do I need an accessory panel?

I realize that my wanting to keep my under-hood storage tray will not help. Where to mount some of this stuff is a question I guess since it looks like many folks use that top frame member under the hood where my tray attaches.

I also want to add the Torq Locker. Should I do that first before putting the winch in the way? Strong Made front bumper already installed.

Guys, thanks much for any help/guidance you can provide.

Reactions: Morpheus
Morpheus

Morpheus

Supporting Member
May 6, 2019
Minnesota
Ownership

1. 500
Please be patient with an electrical noob (I don't even own a simple current tester).

I'm ready to start adding some electrical stuff to my P5. I'm not at all qualified or experienced enough in electrical knowledge to do it, but may try anyway.

Plans are for Power Steering and Winch (with aftermarket wireless remote) now with front and rear lights later. Figured I'd ask up front now about planning it out before starting. If there's a thread about this already I apologize. I see terms like buss bar, power block, relays, fuses etc. but it's mostly greek to me. I've never done any of this stuff before.