tire pressure for sharp rocky trails?

Hickstrong

Hickstrong

Aug 19, 2019
Pa
Ownership

1. 700-4
I went from 12psi all around to 8 psi front and 10 psi rear on my 700-4. In 2 days we covered 60 miles of trail much of which was rocky. I ended up with a sidewall cut on both of my back tires and one wheel has 2 kinks on it. I can easily pound out the kinks using a tool that I made. I am wondering if the higher pressure saved me on the previous ride on the same exact rocky trails. Beyond avoiding sharp rocks and replacing the stock Blackstone tires with more sidewall ply..... what pressure is best to avoid cuts?

CID

CID

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Oct 27, 2019
SE Denver-ish
Ownership

1. Talon R
It can/will be different for every vehicle/tire/riding condition/speed, now you know what's too low FOR YOU. I'll be starting with 10 but I'm a fairly conservative driver when in 'impact country'. My ride is probably nearing 2000 pounds including me, spare tire and tools/supplies.

CRob8348

CRob8348

Dec 12, 2019
Kansas
Ownership

1. 1000-3
I have been to Colorado 2 times in the last 2 months and started with 12psi. I soon dropped to 7-8psi. My P1K3 is bone stock except for Fuel beadlock wheels. I consider myself a pretty good conservative driver, especially on the rougher and rockier terrain. I found my machine to ride better with the lower psi plus I like the way it seems to envelop the rocks and doesn't puncture them. That being said, when I replace my tires, big horn 2.0's, I am going with a heavier ply.

R

rickoshea

i was running full recommended psi for stock bighorns while i was getting a feel for my Elkas.now i'm down to 12 psi only because i can't do slow.if i'm finding them too stiff i just click down on the shocks.it's not perfect but it beats in/deflating the tires all the time.

CRob8348

CRob8348

Dec 12, 2019
Kansas
Ownership

1. 1000-3