P500 New p5 battery drain.

V

viking1983

Oct 27, 2022
Ownership

1. 500
Hello. I have had my P5 for 2 months and I have an on going battery drain. I found out this week that it has a GPS box attached to the battery for powersports protection. I have a free 12 month subscription. Could this be the reason by battery drains? Should I just unhook it?

906UP

906UP

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Jul 6, 2017
da Yoop
Ownership

1. 1000-3

2. Talon X
Yes and yes. Sounds like some sort of tracking device, did the dealer sell you on this? Stuff like that is a useless money maker for sh1tty dealers

DRZRon1

DRZRon1

May 11, 2019
PA
Ownership

1. Talon X
unhook it should resolve it or keep it on a tender full time

do u have a wireless winch control by chance

V

viking1983

Oct 27, 2022
Ownership

1. 500
Ok thanks. I was never told it was attached. I got an email from powersports protection saying my battery was low and after digging into how and why the email I was told it's a 12 month free promotion then u pay. I will unhook.

DRZRon1

DRZRon1

May 11, 2019
PA
Ownership

1. Talon X
$13 a month eventually to drain your battery and tell you it’s low - great.

did dealer add this to machine and charge you for it?

V

viking1983

Oct 27, 2022
Ownership

1. 500
It was added but I was never told. I received a text from powersports protection telling me my battery voltage was11.6. I called dealer and found out I received a 12 month promotion and that the GPS box was attached to my battery. I removed it this morning.

DRZRon1

DRZRon1

May 11, 2019
PA
Ownership

1. Talon X
none of my business but my advice is to have insurance, don't leave keys in it, keep it locked up if ya can, sucks if someone steals it, but I cant imagine its more than $150 a year for insurance.....

a savvy thief will strap that gps box to a dog or another vehicle - lol........

Glank

Glank

Jul 20, 2020
Ownership

1. 1000-5