What should I check out buying used?

IngoTheBarbarian

IngoTheBarbarian

Sep 25, 2021
US
I may be driving many miles to buy a used Talon. What should I look for as far as wear, damage, or issues?

I know how to look over a car/truck but I'm an ATV noob. The car I'm looking at is a 2020 Live Valve 4 seat. I know about the leaky diff seal but is there any other endemic problems. The guy just put 32s on the car with stock rims and spacers but it was done at a Honda dealer. It has a little under 2k miles.

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk

Remington

Remington

Deputy Fife POIDH Enforcement Officer
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Jul 24, 2016
Michigan
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon X
If you use the search at top, you can find the things your asking for. I found one for you. Lengthy read but you'll have a better understanding.

Reactions: CID
D

Dankathy

May 4, 2020
Utah
Ownership

1. Talon R
I would pull the cover off the air box and look at the clean side for dirt. How much dirt (if any) is to much is your judgment call. With the trail riding i do i would not expect anything to be worn out at that mileage but i'm a desert guy, your signature doesn't indicate where you're at- if it has been used as a submersible i have no experience. Damage is where you find it, broken plastic and paint flaking around bent and stressed steel are always indicators. Hope this works out for you

Reactions: Russ989 and CID
CID

CID

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Oct 27, 2019
SE Denver-ish
Ownership

1. Talon R
The region the buggy was ridden in will help define what to look for - 'US' doesn't give us much to go on.

Ask why he's selling, make eye contact while he answers. Does he have any maintenance records? A mechanically sympathetic owner will usually have them.

Look underneath for crushed frame tubes if you're in a rocky area - especially if an aftermarket skid looks brand new (hiding something?) Look for immersion signs like mud/water stains in the glove box. :oops: