P500 Dash Lights On Won’t Start

bms

bms

Feb 3, 2019
Pa
Ownership

1. 500
OK, so my son and I hooked up my plow. The P500 started, warmed up, and ran as normal. When I pulled it out of the garage and dropped the winch down on the driveway to double check that everything was set up correctly, and turned it off, the dash lights stayed on the check engine light is flashing and it will now not turn over. I have my battery tender on now.

Any ideas?

bigbore

bigbore

Jan 5, 2016
It might be in gear. It won't start if it's in gear.

Reactions: J80
bms

bms

Feb 3, 2019
Pa
Ownership

1. 500
Unhooked and reconnected the battery after the tender was on until charged - no dice. Just clicks. Someone one FB mentioned checking a switch with springs on it??? I’m not a mechanic, so I’m not sure on next steps. I have a buddy coming over later today to help me look things over.

All this 2 days before a major snowstorm - I suppose no plowing for me.

bms

bms

Feb 3, 2019
Pa
Ownership

1. 500
It might be in gear. It won't start if it's in gear.
Thanks - I always put it in neutral and put the brake on when I turn off the machine, which I did before it died. Also, my son and I pushed it out of my driveway and it rolled easily so I assume it’s in neutral.

Reactions: SILVER_ALERT
bms

bms

Feb 3, 2019
Pa
Ownership

1. 500
Well, one of my buddies came over today after work. The battery was ok, so we tapped the starter with a hammer and it started right up. So, sounds like I need a starter.

Any particular brand I should look at or avoid? The Honda starters are $$$!

SILVER_ALERT

SILVER_ALERT

HONDA SXS Club Flounder
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Jan 6, 2016
Route 66 Oklahoma
Ownership

1. 500
Well, one of my buddies came over today after work. The battery was ok, so we tapped the starter with a hammer and it started right up.
Any particular brand I should look at or avoid?

I like Estwing hammers, but a Stanley or even a cheap Harbor Freight should do it for you. ;)