Debating buying Talon Live Valve

• Thread starter C-130loadmaster
  • Start date

Is it reasonable to buy a 24k SXS in my position?

• Total voters
C

C-130loadmaster

Feb 21, 2021
Somerset, KY
Ownership

1. Other Brand
Hey there, new member here. I have been tossing the idea of buying a Honda Talon 1000R Fox Live Valve since around December. I am wondering if it is crazy or irresponsible for me to buy a 24k machine. I know questions like this are very subjective and depend on a lot of factors but I would like to give some background on myself and get opinions. I am a single 22y/o college student. I work 48hrs a week as a paramedic making $13.00/hr plus overtime. I have a 2019 Ridgeline BE and a 2007 civic Si and both are paid off, just paying full coverage for both. Last year my taxed income was just over 40k. My only debt is a 145k duplex that I rent out for $1500 monthly. Is it a bad idea to spend that much on a toy in my financial position? I live in KY and we have 300 acres so I’ve had ATV’s my entire life and we go to brimstone and Royal Blue periodically. I would be financing the SXS with 6k down. I know I am crazy but is this a crazy idea? That’s a LOT of money for a SXS.

TripleB

TripleB

Lifetime Member
Aug 13, 2018
Caryville, Tennessee
Ownership

1. 1000-3

2. 1000-5
I've always been tight with my money my whole life. Its put me in good shape financially now in my late 40s. I've had a wife and kids since I was 20. That being said, you with no kids, and 6k down. I would say f*** it and buy it. YOLO.

toddvdh

toddvdh

Lifetime Member
Jun 23, 2020
Green Bay, WI
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon X
Don’t finance toys imho. Save up and pay cash. It’s always a better long term financial plan.

I agree. If you ever wreck it or need to sell it, you could be upside down real quick.

But also, yolo. And the time to get into trouble financially is with no wife or kids.

Smitty335

Smitty335

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Oct 3, 2016
NWA Arkansas
Ownership