P1000 Newbie Here - Spare Tire Question

meanmachine19

meanmachine19

May 1, 2020
Northern Arizona
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Hi, I'm new to both the UTV world and Honda Pioneer. We own and have owned several Honda vehicles so that's why it was an easy choice for our first UTV.
This week we will be purchasing and being new I almost feel I'm putting the cart before the horse. I've got lots to learn. But thankfully there are forums like this that I have used for past vehicles where I know I can get good answers. So I'll apologize now for my ignorance since this is all new to me.

So we are getting a 2020 Pioneer 1000-5 Deluxe and trying to figure out what to do about a spare tire. I'm not looking for anything special (and staying with stock tires until I learn more). My question is, what size spare to get? I noticed there are 27x9x12 for front and 27x11x12 on the rear.

I'm also researching mounting options along with using a 'slime' product, so once I learn my way around the forum I'm sure I'll find answers. But first I want to figure out the spare tire thing so I can price things out (rim + tire).

Thanks in advance,
Keviin

Isaiah

Isaiah

Dec 30, 2019
Altamont TN
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Hi, I'm new to both the UTV world and Honda Pioneer. We own and have owned several Honda vehicles so that's why it was an easy choice for our first UTV.
This week we will be purchasing and being new I almost feel I'm putting the cart before the horse. I've got lots to learn. But thankfully there are forums like this that I have used for past vehicles where I know I can get good answers. So I'll apologize now for my ignorance since this is all new to me.

So we are getting a 2020 Pioneer 1000-5 Deluxe and trying to figure out what to do about a spare tire. I'm not looking for anything special (and staying with stock tires until I learn more). My question is, what size spare to get? I noticed there are 27x9x12 for front and 27x11x12 on the rear.