P700 P700 easy initial service

S

SEW

Jul 31, 2015
I did my 100 mile service myself and am glad I did. The Factory Mantance manual is good except for the diagram, needed a picture, of where TDC is for valve adjustment. All went well. Took nearly all panels off for first service to make it easy. Oil change - simple and easy. Same with valves except couldn't use mark easily.
What I found: nothing had been lub'd before delivery (shift lever, nor anything else) and is much smoother now, valve adjustment - exhaust valves were the same and 0.001" tight - left them as is, intakes , each 0.003" loose (50% loose!), adjusted them down to book figure of 0.006". It runs so much better now!!
Plan on 85-140/Lucas to try to quieten the differentials.
The Pioneer is just too easy to service and maintain to not do it yourself. And no, I'm not an ATV/ motorcycle mechanic, I'm a 68 year old dentist .

S

SEW

Jul 31, 2015
its just another patient right. lol think I'd rather work on my pioneer.

I've been a mechanic since I first started drag racing in the early 1960's. Worked as a foreign car mechanic for years. Wasn't a dentist until I was 36. Good to have varied background.

Reactions: HappyHonda
allgm1

allgm1

Lifetime Member
Mar 7, 2015
New Hampshire
Good to have varied background.

I agree, my father had me doing brake jobs, changing oil and rotating tires on the family cars as a pre-teen, then I went into the navy as an aviation electrician out of high school and worked most of my adult life as an electrician. As soon as someone finds out your an electrician, they usually have something they need done.

Reactions: SEW
Gator

Gator

The Most Unknown Member
Lifetime Member
Sep 16, 2015
Louisiana
Ownership

1. 700-2
You took all the panels off?????
I would think a dentist would just open the hood and do everything from there.

OPEN WIDE!

S

SEW

Jul 31, 2015
You took all the panels off?????
I would think a dentist would just open the hood and do everything from there.