BOX1 - TEST

Multi Switch panel wiring help

dmcpeak

dmcpeak

Oct 9, 2016
Binghamton, NY
Ownership

1. 700-4
I guess I'll try one more time to ask for help...I bought the Switch plate. Check. I know what switches I want. Check. Now can someone point me in the right direction to learn how everything goes together? Do I need to buy wire harnesses, fuse panels etc...In other words, how do I learn what to connect and where? I have been to all my local electronics stores and they are no help whatsoever. Does anyone know of a post that shows how to do the wiring behind the panel?

Reactions: Jim0311
test
mystic1219

mystic1219

Vendor
Lifetime Member
Jul 3, 2015
@dmcpeak I'm not an electrician but I'll add some notes I've picked up on.
-Fuse all you accessories. You can add in line fuses or add a fuse box. Both do the same thing, in line may save you some wiring, a box will locate all fuses togeather.
Watts/voltage=amps so a 120w light bar at 12 volts draws 10 amps. Your switches are probably rates for 20 or 30 amps but if it's questionable run a relay to avoid burning up your switch. The relay uses a low amperage power wire (ran through your switch) to trigger the relay and complete the circuit of a larger amperage to your accessories. Search for 12v relay on YouTube for a better explanation.
-be sure to go by the wiring diagram supplied with your switches and relays. They should explain pretty clearly where all connections go.
-If you want power on/off with your ignition you need a relay that is triggered with the ignition. I ran a fuse box with a relay that is triggered by a wire behind the factory 12v outlet so it's on/off with my key. Now anything ran off of my fuse box (lights, radio, whatever you want) will only come on when the key is on.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

Last edited:
IdahoPioneer

IdahoPioneer

Oct 16, 2015
Emmett, Idaho
Ownership

1. 500

2. 1000-5