Engine Braking

P

PA Crude

Oct 18, 2013
Hi All.
I'm new to the side x side world,
I have had bikes my whole life...
My question is about engine braking on the pioneer.
I have test driven the Ranger... (NO engine braking)
The Viking... (strong engine braking)
How is the Pioneer?
Reason being my property is all hills. (25-35% grade)
Without gears like a bike... I'm thinking this is one of my biggest concerns.

Thank you for your feedback.

George

I

idahohntr

Lifetime Member
Sep 12, 2013
Engine braking is actually very good in my opinion- if you test drive a pioneer, you will notice the assist immediately

P

PA Crude

Oct 18, 2013
Thank you Idahohntr,
Just got back from my test ride.
Drove the Viking and the Pioneer ...
No comparison, the Honda was quieter and much less vibration.
I felt a bit of holdback just momentarily after letting off the accelerator.
Unfortunately was not able to take it on any hills.

Brakes felt a little strange.
I think I was the first to test ride this unit.

I guess the brakes have to break in?
Also smelled funny.... I guess lubricants burning off the new engine?

Ever notice this?

Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon R
Ya, the smell is just the new burning off. More then likely the same with the brakes if they have never been used.
Ya you can feel the braking on the Pioneer as soon as you let off the gas. With those belt driven units, most require you to stay on the gas to accomplish there "engine breaking". Most people, including me, cant understand giving a SxS more gas when you should be giving it less or none.

I haven't had a hill to test the engine braking on. But this coming weekend I will and will report back how I feel. I'm sure it will handle like my Rincon did.

DG Rider

DG Rider

Member: Triple Clutch Club
Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
PA Crude said:
Thank you Idahohntr,