BOX1

P700 Bad Engine due to dust intake. Very low mileage

C

clieberg78

Jul 27, 2022
Wisconsin
Ownership

1. 700-4
Hello All. I'm very new to this fourm, but has anyone had this issue? I have 239 Miles on my 2021 Pioneer 700-4 and my engine needs to be rebuilt.. I brought in for my first service. Dealer found the issue: "Adjusted valves, found intake valves to be super loose. Adjusted to Spec. Noticed unit was hard start. So installed new spark plugs. Unit did not start any easier. Performed leak down test after conversing with customer. Found unit to have a 20% leak through the intake. Believe that because of the air filter condition the valves probably wore thin due to dirt ingestion. Recommend new Intake valves and possible having the cylinder head Re-cut"

Unit was only trail ridden. NO water. Just typical trail conditions.

I have opened a case with Honda and I'm waiting to hear back from them.

Thanks in advance

C

clieberg78

Jul 27, 2022
Wisconsin
Ownership

1. 700-4
Pics?
and Welcome to the forum
Unfortunately no. I brought into the dealership for it's first service. I have no pictures of any of the damage. I wish I would have looked at the air filter before bringing it in, but with only 239 miles on it I figured they would just take care of any dust and\or cleaning\replacement that needed to be done.

Thanks.

DG Rider

DG Rider

Member: Triple Clutch Club
Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
I would ask to see the filter. I'm not saying it's not under all circumstances, but 239 miles here in the dusty desert probably isn't enough to render the filter useless.

I'd suspect improperly adjusted (tight) valves, personally.

C

clieberg78

Jul 27, 2022
Wisconsin
Ownership

1. 700-4
I would ask to see the filter. I'm not saying it's not under all circumstances, but 239 miles here in the dusty desert probably isn't enough to render the filter useless.

I'd suspect improperly adjusted (tight) valves, personally.