P500 Difficulty of Torq Locker Install ??

B

Bcraig

Jul 10, 2021
Arkansas
Ownership

1. Do not currently own
For those who Have installed them ,I am wanting to buy and Put a Torq Locker in my 2021 Pioneer 500 but I am not a Mechanic.

I do have tools but the most intensive Mechanical job I have done is to change a 1999 ford ranger from Pushbutton 4wd to Warne Lock in Hubs.

Is this something that can be done with good instructions(assuming that they come with good instructions) without being a Honda Mechanic ?

I am 61 and retired so I am not in a Hurry,even if it took me a week to get it done and done right.

Just don't want to do anything to mess up this rig as I like it !

Thanks

hallic

hallic

Lifetime Member
Dec 21, 2019
Central MN
Ownership

1. 500
I'm not really a mechanic myself, done oil changes, swapped out a starter or alternator here and there. Nothing crazy intensive. Instructions for the Torq locker a nice and easy to follow, there's some youtube vids too. I watched them twice, following along with the instructions knowing I'd get halfway through something and didn't want to wash the oil/crud off my hands to go back inside to look something up later on.

My biggest suggestion, make sure you have a *good quality* pin punch before you get started. I forgot what size it was (pretty sure its listed in the instructions somewhere), but I bent 2 cheap ones *cough*Harbor Freight*cough* before I went out and got a good one. After that it took all of 2 seconds to knock the pin out and finish the dismantling.

Other "gotchas" including: get it up on ramps or good jackstands or something to get the front end off the ground a bit. crawling under it to unhook the 4wd cabling to the front diff was kind of a pain because I didn't have enough room.