Oil stinks like fuel ?

N

NightwolfP1000

Feb 27, 2024
Upstate NY
Ownership

1. 1000-3
Hello all, long time listner ,first time caller ,newbie here just purchased my first pioneer last week, 2018 1000-3 purchased used obviously, 19xx miles, machine is in very good condition , I've had it torn down a bit to give it a good scrubbing and PM, I ordered a engine/tranny/sub Trans, and diff fluid swap kit .. hasn't arrived yet , but just checking things over and I've noticed a gas smell to the oil. It's a bit past full witch concerns me and it smells like fuel ...the previous owner I think used it as a golf cart didn't always get it good n hot . I'm not sure just guessing from its condition, but the machine runs flawless, after finding the tainted oil I have not run it as I don't want to eat a bearing or score the cylinder walls .. previous owner said it was changed before winter .. anyway , has anyone ever seen this? Maybe it's not fuel maybe the oil smells funny ? Or if it is , I'm assuming it's from short cold runs and rings not seating? I have not pulled plugs yet to check any rich conditions but kit has plugs I will look when jt comes in , any thoughts or help is appreciated

N

NightwolfP1000

Feb 27, 2024
Upstate NY
Ownership

1. 1000-3
first wash

Screenshot 20240226 115915 Snapchat

Remington

Remington

Deputy Fife POIDH Enforcement Officer
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Jul 24, 2016
Michigan
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon X
Welcome from the Strechen Gretchen State
Michigan

Nice buggy. I like the Blue.
Said u bought it used. Did The previous owner do the clutch update and other recalls do u know?

N

NightwolfP1000

Feb 27, 2024
Upstate NY
Ownership

1. 1000-3
Not aware, from the looks of his place , last time it saw a dealer was when it left the lot . I did a "relearn" on the clutches yesterday, seemed to smooth things out , I'm sorry for my naivete, but what recalls are out for an 18'

Remington

Remington

Deputy Fife POIDH Enforcement Officer