P500 Rattle - metallic clanking

Saunch

Saunch

Sep 8, 2019
Canada
Ownership

1. 500
I've read all the threads on the rear differentials clunking on the Pioneer 500's and I do get a clunk/click once in a while.
2016 Pioneer 500 with 400 miles

What I'm trying to find is a rattling, clattering noise at the upper end of the RPM range (every gear). 2nd gear at 8 MPH, 3rd gear at 12-14 MPH, 4th gear at 18-22 MPH and 5th around 28 and higher. It's a horrible noise,I actually find myself shifting way too early because the noise is so bad. We have to wear ear plugs.

It's seems to be harmonic, at a certain frequency.

It sounds like the tranny is about ready to fly apart. I thought that it may have been timing chain slap (I was a Nissan/Infiniti tech for 21 years so I've heard a few noisy timing chains :) ) but the chain is okay.

I love my P500 and I've had many Honda ATV's but I tell you this thing sounds like a bucket of bolts. Very non-Honda like noises. Very unpleasant to ride and drive. Wife says she's done riding until it's quieter

I've removed all the rear plastic, rear rack, check and insulated all the exhaust shields, isolated every little plastic rattle ( I've even replaced all the push-in plastic keepers with black anodized 6mm bolts and lock nuts).

I'm hoping someone reading this can help me figure this out.

Do these things have a limited slip rear diff or is it locked?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Hey Steve - i know we exchanged on this issue as I have the same annoying sound. Wondering if you ever figured out a solution (besides selling the machine)? Cheers

Mudder

Mudder

NTC Ambassador of Walls
Lifetime Member
Oct 1, 2016
Georgia
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. 500
Proven P500 noise reductions include synthetic diff oil and a trigger shield. Other than that, its an entry level utility machine built for durability. Lastly, a good sound system helps.

SouthwestORV

SouthwestORV

Oct 24, 2018
Taylor, Arizona
Ownership

1. 500