Honda Fanboy
Vendor
Lifetime Member
Club Contributor
Jan 6, 2016
Middle TN
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Total sxs newbie here and shopping for a windshield. What's the differences between the different types? Glass, hard coat lexan, optical grade. Which is better for what reasons? Thanks!

Bubbalel

Bubbalel

Nov 29, 2015
Total sxs newbie here and shopping for a windshield. What's the differences between the different types? Glass, hard coat lexan, optical grade. Which is better for what reasons? Thanks!
I like the two piece because I can let a little air through and cut down on the dust that wants to come around the closed shield. I'm hoping hard coat will resist scratching a little better (clean a dirty shield on the trail)

Reactions: Delton
Delton

Delton

Honda Fanboy
Vendor
Lifetime Member
Club Contributor
Jan 6, 2016
Middle TN
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I like the two piece because I can let a little air through and cut down on the dust that wants to come around the closed shield. I'm hoping hard coat will resist scratching a little better (clean a dirty shield on the trail)
Theres one on eBay for 245.00 but it looks like it doesn't fit very well at the bottom. Pretty sure I'll go with a Honda one but no idea which material is better. Places I ride are usually either very muddy or rocky.

Jody

Jody

Jan 12, 2016
Manitoba
Leon will scratch with just dust, hard coat is better buy never try to clean dry. It has to be wet down or you will scratch it as well. glass is best but not as universal. no two piece design.

Reactions: Delton
Delton

Delton

Honda Fanboy
Vendor
Lifetime Member
Club Contributor
Jan 6, 2016
Middle TN
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Leon will scratch with just dust, hard coat is better buy never try to clean dry. It has to be wet down or you will scratch it as well. glass is best but not as universal. no two piece design.
So either glass or the hard coat lexan?

PCB67SS

PCB67SS

Lifetime Member
Oct 29, 2015
Panama City Beach