ehart814

Lifetime Member
Club Contributor
Mar 28, 2016
NWPA
Ownership

1. 500

2. 1000-5
This spring, we moved to a new home. I'm not used to the luxury of having a paved driveway, but I guess we are moving on up!
I have always had gravel driveways and when I plowed snow I just have the skids maybe 3/4" down from the blade and that's how it's currently set up. Couple years ago I went the cheap route and bought the 72" Tusk plow setup from Rocky Mountain for my 1000 and it has done fine. I had a better plow when I had my 500, but I don't really enjoy plowing all that much and this time just decided to cheap out.

Anyhow, my driveway is really nice and I have no experience plowing on asphalt. Are the metal skids going to damage it? Obviously, I know about the plastic cutting edges and read a bunch of threads on here but didn't really see anything about using the steel edge and skids on asphalt. I don't care to scrape every millimeter of snow off. I plan to use my little broadcast spreader on the back of the Recon to spread sand after I plow. I think that will work great for traction and to help melt the last bit of snow.

Does anyone here have experience using steel edge on sealed asphalt ? Any tips? I don't want to buy a plastic edge or really do much work on the blade. Hoping I can get by with the current setup without causing damage

Reactions: ChadD
Vikes79

Vikes79

SKOL!
Lifetime Member
Jul 18, 2018
South Dakota
Ownership

1. 1000-5
You’ll definitely want to have the blade up a bit, especially if you hit some seams or cracks.

personally I’d leave the skids so you gave a 1/2 to 3/4 clearance and let the sun do the rest. If you’re plowing when there’s snow then there should be minimal wear on a set of steel skids or shoes.

bumperm

bumperm

May 7, 2021
Gardnerville, NV
Ownership

1. 1000-5