P500 WE shock settings?

X

xxxtreeboy

Mar 30, 2018
Latrobe, PA
Ownership

1. 500
I just unboxed 4 WE shocks for my 2017 P500, and all four are preset at the 4th click from the hardest setting (softest setting seems to be 12 clicks from the hardest setting). Since I have no riding experience with these specific shocks yet, I would like a setting suggestion for front and rears from someone with experience. I need a compromise setting to handle spirited trail riding when I'm alone (under 25 mph on semi-groomed twisty trails, but never jumping or tires leaving the ground) and at the same setting to eliminate the "nasty jolts from hitting unseen rocks or dropping a front tire/whole front end into those surprise deep holes or ditches when my "jolt and jarring sensitive wife" is the passenger. Thanks for your suggestions.

Reactions: Vondy
Vondy

Vondy

Lifetime Member
Mar 10, 2015
Houston,OH
Ownership

1. Talon X4
I started soft with 2 clicks front and rear. Had some issues with fronts bottoming out and went to 4 then 6. For slow riding I would consider going back to 4 on front. No issues bottoming out after going to 6. I think my rear are still on 2(maybe 4,I'll double check) .

So 6 clicks from softest on front and 2 from softest on rear. These were settings with 400lbs of riders and cooler and recovery gear.

X

xxxtreeboy

Mar 30, 2018
Latrobe, PA
Ownership

1. 500
I started soft with 2 clicks front and rear. Had some issues with fronts bottoming out and went to 4 then 6. For slow riding I would consider going back to 4 on front. No issues bottoming out after going to 6. I think my rear are still on 2(maybe 4,I'll double check) .

So 6 clicks from softest on front and 2 from softest on rear. These were settings with 400lbs of riders and cooler and recovery gear.