P500 What's with all of the rollovers?

P

PNWGuy

From reading the various discussions on here, it seems like rollovers are fairly common.

I've been riding ATVs and off-roading for 30+ years and have only rolled once, and that was on a Yamaha Kodiak 400 in 2007 in Arizona.

Oh, and a 1972 Pinto when in high school and doing baja racing in it on the mountain...

But seriously, the talk here suggests that rolling over is a given. Why? Are these machines that unstable?

Reactions: BWAF
DG Rider

DG Rider

Member: Triple Clutch Club
Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
Narrow width (50") + short wheelbase + short wheel travel = less stability compared to most larger SxS's in certain situations.
It doesn't seem to be so much a straight up side hill thing as it is dropping a tire in a rut or running it up a bank. Anything that makes it teeter-toter.

Go read on the RZR forums in the 50" areas and you'll see it's a common theme with 50"ers.

Last edited:
DG Rider

DG Rider

Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
I assume removing the sway bar allows greater articulation and slow speed stability but decreases high speed stability when cornering?
It def improves the ride and articulation. It's usefulness is debated, but you have to figure it's there for a reason. I don't ride fast, so mine is gone.
Many add wheel spacers to widen out the 500. Of course, that takes it over 50", so you may be legal for 50" trails if that's what you ride.

Reactions: Elwood65 and BWAF
P

PNWGuy

Ordering new tires and going with 26" But not sure if the 11/12 rear and 12/12 rear are worth the extra money in increasing stability. Going with 9/12 on front.

Montecresto

Montecresto

Montecresto el segundo
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Jan 17, 2016
Eastern oklahoma
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. 500

3. 1000-3

4. 1000-5

5. Talon X4