P500 First Air Cleaner Service

bms

bms

Feb 3, 2019
Pa
Ownership

1. 500
I cleaned my air filter for the first time Sunday. Mind you I'm a teacher, not a mechanic, and after looking here on the forums, I wasn't sure what to clean it with, since not one gas station in my area sells kerosene! So, I ended up using hot water and dawn dishwashing and cleaned it as best as I could, changing the water a few times and making sure it was totally dry before oiling. Finally, I did use Uni spray-on foam filter oil, and that worked great.

What could be used to clean the filter besides kerosene? Thanks!

DG Rider

DG Rider

Member: Triple Clutch Club
Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
Gas. Kerosene. There are specific cleaners available as well.
I've had zero luck using dawn/soap and water, but I haven't used no toil or Honda oil either.

Reactions: Backwoods
CID

CID

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Oct 27, 2019
SE Denver-ish
Ownership

1. Talon R
I read here in past posts that gas is a no-no for foam air filters - is that true? Not they're that expensive to replace, but...
I used gas for decades on the dirt bikes, just don't soak the filter in it. I'd put 2" in a container, dip the filter repeatedly until it was clean and then use the air compressor to blow dry. I've since switched to kerosene (bought a 5 gallon container) and clean with Dawn original (blue), blow and paper towel dry and let sit overnight if I have the time. Then add enough oil that I can squeeze out the excess, assuring 100% coverage - I'd much rather it was over oiled than under oiled.

Depending on surface area, oiled foam is incredibly efficient, even when it looks like they're totally plugged. Many guys clean them way too soon.

Still working just fine at 1066 miles (first cleaning). The filter is bright red under the goop. :oops:
I KRxxBDV XL

Proof, stock filter behind the foam prefilter at 1137 miles - (Talons will total a stock filter at 200-300 miles)
I cC2r3Xx L