P700 First Ride over 20 mins running hot

Noob

Noob

Oct 27, 2016
West slope of the Blue Ridge
Ownership

1. 700-2
Took the 700-2 on the first ride over 20 minutes and ran hot. Reservoir boiling. Gauge maxed out. Not sure what this could be but it looks like I am headed to the dealer first thing on Tuesday am; I have only had this machine for about two weeks. My first guess is thermostat malf out but I am far from a mechanic. I hope this isn't a sign.

DG Rider

DG Rider

Member: Triple Clutch Club
Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
Did the fan ever come on?

700s are not known for overheating (cough1000cough). I'd bet an air pocket. The fans do go bad, but usually not this soon...but anything is possible.

Reactions: Noob
Noob

Noob

Oct 27, 2016
Ownership

1. 700-2
Did the fan ever come on?

700s are not known for overheating (cough1000cough). I'd bet an air pocket. The fans do go bad, but usually not this soon...but anything is possible.
I did some forum searches and saw that pop up...I am hoping that is what it is but I will take it to the dealer anyway. Like I said this it is only about three weeks old.

Ya know what? I didn't notice if the fan came on or not. This machine was the last 18 my dealer had. Could this be from sitting for an extended period?

Reactions: DG Rider
DG Rider

DG Rider

Member: Triple Clutch Club
Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
I did some forum searches and saw that pop up...I am hioping that is what it is but I will take it to the dealer anyway. Like I said this it is only about three weeks old
Yeah...I'd definitely let them deal with it.

West slope of the "Blue Ridge"? That in the NC area?

M

motorman18

Apr 28, 2016
Laurel, MS
Probably air pocket or fan but I’d let it be the dealer problem

Noob

Noob

Oct 27, 2016
Ownership

1. 700-2