Gear reduction?

M

Manly bug

Oct 7, 2013
I'm new to the SXS world, and have not been able to find a lot of after-market manufacturers offering things such as lower gearing for the pioneer. I personally think the gearing could be cut in half... Most of the trails I do are very steep and slow, so I'm not concerned about top speed (25-30 is fine).

Does anyone know how we can make the pioneer into more of a crawler? Part of what attracted me to the vehicle were its great dimensions-approach, departure and break over... But I don't like feeling like I might not have enough power to get up a hill with me and my family! (We are not big; I'm 6'0" 180lbs, wife is 130lbs, kids are about 35lb each)

Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon R
Manufactures may be slow bringing items to the table. They are worried that it may bust like the BR.
As for gearing, you should have plenty of power. I do not think there will ever be a reduction. But you never know, these independent shops turn new things out all the time.

Jerry3

Jerry3

Lifetime Member
Jul 8, 2013
Arkville, NY
Not sure about the gear reduction, but as Hondasxs said, power is not an issue, I took my Dad up over a really steep trail and I had way more power than I needed. We are both 200+ lbs. The trail was straight up the side of a mountain following a powerline, Our new atv test trail lol. So, dont worry about the pioneer having a lack of power.

ohanacreek

ohanacreek

My EcoBoost has I4WD
Lifetime Member
Jul 25, 2013
Shelby County, Alabama
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Ive got prob 20lbs on you and hauled a 500lb sprayer all day today in the bed, controlled burn on our land. At some points I was pulling a 6x12 trailer loaded with @1000lb of wood. She lugged a bit but pulled it up and down hills.

Not sure how steep of hills you're talking about.

M

Manly bug

Oct 7, 2013