Moving p500 battery to front hood???!!!???

J

Joccomo

Nov 23, 2014
i am new to the sxs game, but some things just seem to make good sense. And, moving the battery from in front of the right rear tire seems prudent. I plan to use my 500 to hunt ducks and I will be in flooded timber and flooded rice/crawfish fields. I stick to hard bottomed areas and the water is about 18 inches deep but deep holes abound. I had my buddy (who is an electrical engineer) put a honda factory winch on it and while wiring, I asked him about the battery box. He was concerned that if the battery stays submerged, it will drain. And the battery box appears to be designed to allow water in and out easily. It is not water proof. He suggested running lines up to the hood and place the battery there. Has anyone done this? For those that run their p500s in water, what battery issues have arisen? I'd love some suggestions on securing the battery a bit higher in the vehicle. (And I'll hit all the wiring with dielectric grease for sure).

Reactions: Geoff
wyo700

wyo700

Lifetime Member
Sep 26, 2013
Sounds like a great idea and really it doesn't matter it's two wires so put it where you want.

Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon R
Ya, you should be able to move the battery no problem. Like wyo said, its only 2 wires. Running a bigger battery or a dual battery can get cofusing and become a tasks.
As for draining underwater. Though it could happen, these batteries are not that acceptable to that. I have had my Rincon atv batteries under water for hours duing the summer and got full life out of it. It is stored low just behind the tie. I dont expect you will be that deep on your P5 for hours at a time. Maybe a deep hole here and there.

I assume you will be snorkling. When you do I would like to ask you take some pictures and post please. I would like to see how you did it.
Thanks.