New Honda 1000R trans bang during shift

B

bearphoto

Jun 15, 2020
Arizona
Ownership

1. Talon R
Newbie here, former RZR owner. So I bought the new 2020 Talon 1000R. It has 1 mile on it. I take it up the street and trans shift from 1-2 and 2-3 sounds like two pipes banging together. A loud metal bang sound. Just during the shift, otherwise its good. Anyone have or had that? I'll try it again Saturday when I'm off but damn it did not sound good!

906UP

906UP

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Jul 6, 2017
da Yoop
Ownership

1. 1000-3

2. Talon X
Yup, welcome to the DCT world, they are quite noisy especially if your used to a belt drive machine.

Reactions: TripleB
strubby

strubby

Jan 9, 2020
Central FL
Ownership

1. Other Brand

2. Talon R
Came from a RZR too. The DCT noise is something to get used to. It's supposed to be quieter after first service, but mine seems about the same. I've read Synth blend with Moly makes a difference, haven't tried it yet.

TxDoc

TxDoc

Lifetime Member
May 19, 2019
TEXAS 🇨🇱
photos.app.goo.gl
Ownership

1. 1000-5
If you search YouTube for 2020 C8 Corvette. Listen to it's DCT tranny upshift at full throttle and especially the C8R on a long run upshifting. It's literally a banging /slamming noise. It takes milliseconds.

Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk

906UP

906UP

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Club Contributor
Jul 6, 2017
da Yoop
Ownership

1. 1000-3

2. Talon X
Came from a RZR too. The DCT noise is something to get used to. It's supposed to be quieter after first service, but mine seems about the same. I've read Synth blend with Moly makes a difference, haven't tried it yet.
The moly blend goes in the sub trans, not the engine/dct. Moly in the DCT will wreck the clutches.

B

bearphoto

Jun 15, 2020
Arizona
Ownership

1. Talon R