P500 No start question

M

mdavenpo

Jan 28, 2017
Michigan
Ownership

1. 500
I have a new 2015 pioneer 500, yes basically new. I bought it used but has less than 2 miles on it, looks showroom perfect so there is basically no usage.

I drained the tank last fall and ran it until it stalled out. I turned it over to make sure all gas was out.
I filled it up this spring and it wont start, put some starter fluid in it and it fired just enough to burn the fluid. So I guess I have a fuel starvation problem.
I'm a backyard mechanic and would like to try and fix it myself before taking it to the dealer. What would you do first?
Oh, one more thing, I don't know diddly squat about fuel injection ;)

I know it would be easier to take it to dealer, but I'd like to at least try to fix it first just in case I have an issue with no dealer around.

Mark

M

mdavenpo

Jan 28, 2017
Michigan
Ownership

1. 500
When I turn the key without starting I hear a click_buzz_click.
BTW, I checked fuses and just changed the plug.
Still no start.

Reactions: DG Rider
DG Rider

DG Rider

Member: Triple Clutch Club
Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2013
Casa Grande, AZ
Ownership

1. 700-2
When I turn the key without starting I hear a click_buzz_click.
BTW, I checked fuses and just changed the plug.
Still no start.
Sounds like the pump is running. Check wiring, esp to the injector. Maybe pull the fuel line QC off and check for flow (watch out!).

M

mdavenpo

Jan 28, 2017
Michigan
Ownership

1. 500
tried turning the key off and on and will pull the fuel line next. First I need to pull the rear fenders, rack etc to get the air cleaner housing off.

Reactions: DG Rider
M

mdavenpo

Jan 28, 2017
Michigan
Ownership

1. 500
Sorry for the delay in getting back guys.
Check this, I get all the plastic off, rear rack taken off and I'm down to looking at the fuel injection and pump and then I remember.