Oil Pressure Sending Unit

Dunegod

Dunegod

Mar 8, 2019
Mesa Az
Ownership

1. Other Brand
Anyone know if there is a location on the engine to add a sending unit? A pic would be a great help.

CID

CID

Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Oct 27, 2019
SE Denver-ish
Ownership

1. Talon R
Interesting question. My air cooled, single cylinder, dual sport motorcycle has <10 pounds of oil pressure per specs. I wonder what Honda expects? I've been adding oil temp gauges to my bikes for 15 years and might start toying with adding one on the Talon. 🤔 My speeds are relatively low and the coolant fan comes on regularly, I wonder what the oil temps are doing? :oops:

H

HondaTech

The P1K is over 100psi

The P700 is close to 100psi

Not sure about the P500

Reactions: CID
H

HondaTech

Talon? Probably similar to the P1K?

Most likely.

If you look on the right side of the engine near the oil fill there are several 10mm headed bolts. Those are feeds off the main bearings. The Jackson turbo gets its turbo oil feed from the rear most port. Thats also the same port Honda wants to read oil pressure from.

This is engine oil pressure, not DCT pressure. It can only be read with our diagnostic tool. Unless you t'd off the clutch pressure sensor on the bottom of the clutch cover.

There's also an oil temp sensor in the valve body cover but Honda only displays it in voltage, not actual temp.

Last edited:
Reactions: CID
Dunegod

Dunegod

Mar 8, 2019
Mesa Az
Ownership

1. Other Brand
I’m looking to monitor engine oil pressure on my Talon and need a location for a sending unit feeding a digital gauge. It also has the JR turbo.

PaulF

PaulF

/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\
Lifetime Member
Jul 1, 2019
Utah
Ownership

1. Talon R
Per service manual, use the rear port to test oil pressure with a special fitting. Pressure should be 71 to 85 PSI at 5,000 RPM.