P1K5Dave

P1K5Dave

Lifetime Member
Club Contributor
Jul 11, 2020
Petoskey, MI
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Whenever the topic of mapping and navigating comes up, I usually see the discussion revolve around GAIA. This thread is to introduce you all to OsmAnd, an open-source mapping application that I run and recommend to everyone. I've been using it for several years, so I'll share what I've learned about it, and maybe get some of you turned on to this amazing tool.

Let me start by saying that I evaluated GAIA, as well as about a dozen other tools back when I first started running live mapping out in the forests of Northern MI. None of the others met my requirements. I'll spell out those requirements in a following post.

As an incentive for all of you to check it out, let me just say that every time I've run into a guy on the trails running GAIA and we start talking about mapping and navigation, I've shown him my OsmAnd and they've all said "whoa, I want to be able to do that..."

OsmAnd is open source, uses Openstreetmaps as it's foundation, and best of all it's FREE. There are levels of premium that you can subscribe to if you want, but it is completely unnecessary and has mostly to do with map updates. You get a full-featured application for free.

Let's meet OsmAnd (Openstreetmaps for Android) and see what it can do...

Last edited:
Robobrainiac

Robobrainiac

Lifetime Member
Jul 15, 2020
Missouri
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Whenever the topic of mapping and navigating comes up, I usually see the discussion revolve around GAIA. This thread is to introduce you all to OsmAnd, an open-source mapping application that I run and recommend to everyone. I've been using it for several years, so I'll share what I've learned about it, and hopefully get some of your turned on to this amazing tool.