Pioneer - does it have a differential

R

ranchhand77

Aug 19, 2013
Looking forward to having the opportunity to purchase the 700-4! I am next on my dealers un-official list for the next one in the store. So far everything looks good, except for conflicting reports about the rear end. The dealer told me it has a differential rear end, however, online report indicate that it has a "non-differential" rear end. When I spoke with the dealer we went out and drove the Big Red and reported the Pioneer has the same setup. I am new to side by sides, and maybe terminology has got the best of me. But does the Pioneer have a "turf saver" rear end or not?

greenatv

greenatv

Lifetime Member
Feb 18, 2013
Ownership

1. 1000-5
The dealer would be wrong. The Pioneer has a positive Rear End. It does NOT have an "OPEN" or "turf saver" differential like the big red. It is Closed, Locked, positive or whatever they call it. both wheels will turn equally. So just like your Honda ATV you will need to be careful in the yard.
Here is a image of the rear diff on the Pioneer.

Attachments

• HL34F1900.gif
    HL34F1900.gif
    106.4 KB · Views: 3,536
R

ranchhand77

Aug 19, 2013
Hmmm, not what I was hoping to hear. Thank you for finally clearing it up for me. Have you driven it on pavement? Not its intended purpose for sure, but at some point hunting and camping, etc, I am sure it will find its way to some hard surfaced roads. Not sure how this would work if I had four big guys in it or the rated 1000 pound in the bed.

red4life

red4life

Aug 13, 2013