Staff member
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Ok. So several of you have made it to or past the first service line. I would like to know how you handled it.

Did you
- take to to the dealer to get done.
If dealer, what all did they do and how much did it cost?
Or
-do it your self
What all did you do?
How long did it take you?
Did you adjust the valves? How was that?
Did you do any extra then what the owners manual said to do?

Any pointers to help other owners with the process?
Thanks.

C

chesterl35

Aug 7, 2013
Dealer told me around 300 bucks. As a mechanic I was going to do it myself anyway. It cost about 33 bucks. I changed oil and filter, checked valves (1 was off a hair but not enough to change untill I hear it rattle) I checked all my fluids, brakes, tire pressure and just visually inspected every thing underneath while I had it on the lift. Took maybe 2 hrs total.

Reactions: ontime
Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Thanks.
The valves is what I am scared of... I've done them on my trx300 but not on the Rincon.
I'm sure it's the same concept.

B

brando4905

Sep 10, 2013
Marion, NC
Ownership

1. 1000-5
Getting ready to do my first service, and in the manual it calls for jacking it up to change the oil. I've looked under the machine at the skid that has to come off, but is there any reason that it needs to be lifted to service??

C

chesterl35

Aug 7, 2013
Skid plate does not have to come off. There is a plastic service door for the drain plug and a hoke cut out for the filter to drain although filter service is easiest done from top passenger side under seat near battery. Lift isn't needed I just have one so is easier

C

chesterl35

Aug 7, 2013