P500 Put Battery under the hood

S

slow poke

Sep 11, 2021
pike county ky
Ownership

1. 500
placed a battery box under the hood. bought a 12 v. lawn mower battery,
ran whip lights off the battery, horn off the single battery, turn signals too!
but must re charge when back home. has it own power supply,
just in case a power failure out in the woods, i have an extra battery to boost off hopefully
so far no problem
just recharge after I get back home your thoughts?
I forgot even the wench and fog lights too dont know how long the battery will last mainly for a back up
thought id try it any way

Reactions: duhmojo
duhmojo

duhmojo

Jun 24, 2021
Canada
Ownership

1. Do not currently own
Pics of how you secured the battery under the hood?

I know there's a backup/dual battery mod that uses the TRUE cut over kit: TrueAm UTV-SBI-18CM UTV Dual Battery Isolator Kit

I have no experience with it, but the alternator should help keep it charged, and you'll have a much higher capacity from a single battery wiring setup. Plus the voltage meter will show both batteries so you know if you even need to charge.

I'm sure others with this mod will chime in.

• Love
Reactions: slow poke
trigger

trigger

Old Ironsides
Vendor
Lifetime Member
Supporting Member
Feb 13, 2016
Bay City, Michigan
www.quickshieldutv.com
Ownership

1. 500
placed a battery box under the hood. bought a 12 v. lawn mower battery,
ran whip lights off the battery, horn off the single battery, turn signals too!
but must re charge when back home. has it own power supply,
just in case a power failure out in the woods, i have an extra battery to boost off hopefully
so far no problem
just recharge after I get back home your thoughts?
I forgot even the wench and fog lights too dont know how long the battery will last mainly for a back up
thought id try it any way