P1000 Winch switch wiring

Kal

Kal

Feb 22, 2022
AZ
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I've looked through the forum and I can't seem to find the answer to my question. I bought a badlands 5k winch and I would like to wire in an on/off switch in with the in/out switch. Can someone point me in the right direction of a detailed writeup or tell me how to do it? Maybe the store has something that would work? I saw a winch wire harness but I don't think it will do what I want it to do, but I'm far from an electrical expert.

Reactions: Lady01 and Brmcg324
Pilotadam

Pilotadam

Lifetime Member
Aug 14, 2019
Pell City, Alabama
Ownership

1. 1000-5
What are you trying to turn on and off? The power to the In and Out switch? Most people use a key on wire connection to power the In and Out switch. The relay should be directly connected to you battery and the winch.

Sent from my SM-G781V using Tapatalk

Reactions: Lady01
bumperm

bumperm

May 7, 2021
Gardnerville, NV
Ownership

1. 1000-5
What are you trying to turn on and off? The power to the In and Out switch? Most people use a key on wire connection to power the In and Out switch. The relay should be directly connected to you battery and the winch.

Sent from my SM-G781V using Tapatalk

That's not the way my '21 SE winch was delivered from Honda! The winch contactor (reversing relay) was wired directly to the battery. Nothing about the installation was "Key-On" and I consider that to be a good feature allowing use of the winch key-off and engine not running (what if it can't be run for whatever reason? Then key-on for the winch would just wasting power for ECU etc. and possibly screwing things up by powering the ECU with low voltage). This does not preclude the engine from being run while winching, and it fact that's always a good idea where possible so the electrical system can help supply the battery under load.