P1000 Burning oil. Rings?

Jerryg

Jerryg

Sep 24, 2020
NEPA
Ownership

1. Other Brand
We use PB Blaster at work all the time, works great but it's not a lubricant and I fear damage on restart. Marvel Mystery Oil is a lubricant. No one can tell me which is #1 cylinder, so I'll wait until Monday and call the UTV shop and find out, then treat #1 for a week. Another reason to pour it down the intake tube is you want to smother out #1 so you know you've got enough oil in the cylinder.
Nothing to worry about there, it will burn off pretty quick. Gas is not a lubricant either.

DRZRon1

DRZRon1

May 11, 2019
PA
Ownership

1. Talon X
Refer to my previous post, #1 should be the front cylinder.

Why would they quote cases if the rings are stuck?
I’m no mechanic at all but have to ask

how do they know rings stuck?

Leak down I would think doesn’t pinpoint it to rings specifically

I’d ask - did they check compression, if I ever suspected bad rings I’d dump a couple of ounces of motor oil in the cylinder and check compression again and if it increased I knew it was rings and not in the head

I just checked a cr125 last week - 60 pounds of compression - pulled cylinder since it is ez - ring was pinched between piston groove - piston was deformed - no fixing that

Reactions: Buggyman
J

john790

Jan 13, 2020
Clinton ohio 44216
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I think i would take a different approch.I would pull the valve cover and ck adjustment and look for something stupid spring,cam lobe.If all looks ok pull the plugs do a dry compresson test compare cylinders.Then a wet test compare the cylinders.Then put your oil down the plug holes both cylinders let it sit.Then crank engine blow the oil out and put the plugs back in.If you dont do it this way then you have a chance of hydro lock.

Reactions: Buggyman and ChadD
H

HondaTech

I’m no mechanic at all but have to ask

how do they know rings stuck?

Leak down I would think doesn’t pinpoint it to rings specifically