P1000 Help with 2016 Pioneer 1000-5 problem: Throttle (gas) pedal is non-responsive

R

Rancilio

Dec 1, 2019
Southern Indiana
Ownership

1. 1000-5
I need some help please. I am new to the SxS world. I pulled my 2016 1000-5 out of the garage, drove for 5min, stopped for 5min with it idling, got in, pressed the pedal to go and nothing... It idles normally but zero response to pressing the throttle pedal. I do not see any codes. I can feel the transmission shift when I change the gears. It was about 40F in the garage and about 20F outside. I followed the throttle cable back and do not see anything that looks frozen or broken. Google does not give me any solutions. Thanks for your help.

Hondasxs

Hondasxs

Club Founder
Staff member
Feb 13, 2013
Charlotte, NC
HondaSxS.com
Ownership

1. 1000-5

2. Talon R
Idk..
We can only assume it is disconcerted or broken. That short of time in the cold would not be enough to freeze the line.

I assume you checked the peddle connection?

To check the other end you will have to take the throttle body covers off and see if its moving.

Also. Just wondering if you had the peddle recall done?

Ok. Keep us updated.

R

Rancilio

Dec 1, 2019
Southern Indiana
Ownership

1. 1000-5
The pedal and cable look good to me. I just checked recalls using the VIN and see 4 open recalls. I bought it used a few months ago and did not check recalls until now - lesson learned. Not that it helps me now, but it hardly had a spec of dirt on it when I got it. The previous owner said it had not been off-road.

I figured the problem would be something electrical tied to some safety feature or brake pedal position sensor that google would tell me all about. I’ll see if I can find anything on the throttle body end tomorrow.

H

HondaTech