P500 Looking for tire recommendations, here's how I'll use them

dtng

dtng

Sep 25, 2018
East Tennessee
Ownership

1. 500
I’m new to SxS’s, I have a new P-500 and want to change out the stock tires for something with a sturdier construction. My primary concern is the ability to get back to my truck and the least of my concerns is speed. My primary use will be on a hunting lease, secondary will be to head up to Ride Royal Blue for a day ride. My first accessory was a Terra 45 winch, I figure tires should come next. I will be hunting on a new lease in Tennessee elevation 1,250’ - 1,750’ so getting up and down the hills will be critical. I also expect downed trees, small streams, rocks, hard pack dirt, and uneven terrain. I’ll also take it to Texas where there will be gravel/loose dirt roads/some sand, generally flat terrain, some mud, and water (to the floor boards). When I’m in Tennessee I’ll be hunting by myself, and this is my main reason for wanting bulletproof tires. Although I’ll have fix-a-flat, tire repair kit, jack, and a pump, I won’t have a spare until I get new tires. I don’t think I need really tall tires, 25”-26” is what I’m thinking, I am concerned that many have said the P-500 is tippy but I would not mind a bit more clearance. I’m not too concerned about 50” trails but I have a 60” wide trailer and would like some room on each side. Also I don’t think I’ll be venturing into fine sand, deep mud, or snow although if all else is covered the ability to deal with these would be a plus but not required. I’m leaning toward Ripsaw’s, after reading so many positive comments here and being told with a P-500 you could limp back to camp on a flat! That said I’m flexible.